ALLEN COUNTY HAZARDOUS MATERIALS EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE (LEPC)

Meeting Minutes of August 18, 2011

Members present: Joe Martz, Russ Decker, Carol Bertrand, Ted Brookman, Mark Heffner, Jim Michael, W. D. Litsey, Tim Haniford, Beth Seibert, Bill Kelly, Trevor Violet, Chad Ulm, Joseph Kitchen, Kyle Erford, Dieter Wireman, David Collins, Diane Bishop, Rick Skilliter, Kent E. Zimmerly, Robert L. Hutchinson, Patrick Miller and Thomas M. Mazur

Members absent: Kevin Bruin, Steve Carr, Jim Everett, Steve Faul, Debbie Foos, Jed Metzger, Dan Protsman, Jeff Ramey, and Clint Rolland.

Guests attending: Scott Fessler and Gene Davis with Allen County EMA, Clifford E. Falls with American Trim, and Jack Lake II with Linde.

Vice Chair, Patrick Miller called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. at the Red Cross Chapter House and declared that a quorum was present.

The minutes of the June 16, 2011 meeting were discussed. A motion was made by Jim Michael to approve the minutes as mailed, seconded by David Collins. Motion passed.

The financial report for the period from June 1, 2011 through July 31, 2011 was discussed. A motion was made by Rick Skilliter, seconded by Carol Bertrand to approve the financial report as mailed. Motion passed.

Vice chairman Miller then called upon newly elected Chairman Joe Martz to assume the Chair for the new appointment period through August of 2013. Chairman Martz then introduced the other new officers for the 2011-2013 term – Robert Hutchinson as Vice Chairman and Ted Brookman will serve as Secretary.

Chairman Martz recognized three new members to the LEPC: Diane Bishop, Kyle Erford and Beth Seibert. The Chair also announced appointments of subcommittee chairs for the new term to include: Russ Decker- Emergency Coordinator and Information Coordinator, Bill Kelly – Public Health, Jim Everett- Law Enforcement, Jed Metzger – Community Resources, Doug Litsey – Risks & Hazards, Joe Kitchen – Training, Dave Collins – Evacuee Shelters, Tom Mazur – Transportation, Rick Skilliter – Citizen Corps Council, and Russ Decker – Enforcement.

Jim Michael offered a report from the recent LEPC State Conference hosted by the State Emergency Response Commission at the Ohio Fire Academy in Reynoldsburg. He reported that the Allen County LEPC again won an annual award from the SERC and is one of only 18 counties statewide to have received the award every year since its

inception. Jim also talked about the importance of utilizing the CAMEO/MARPLOT/ALOHA suite of software available from the U. S. EPA for chemical plume modeling.

Russ Decker offered a discussion regarding the use of reverse 9-1-1 public notification systems similar to the CodeRED system currently being used in Putnam County. While the systems do provide an additional notification method for public officials, the annual cost proposals from vendors show that an average cost for a similar system in Allen County would range from \$25,000 to \$35,000 annually. Committee members questioned the return on investment given the tight financial situation currently facing the county.

In the Emergency Coordinator's Report, Russ Decker reported on 105 calls for service since the last meeting with 23 of those involving hazardous materials. Year to date, EMA has responded to 322 calls for service with 72 of those involving hazardous materials. Russ also announced that the county's Hazmat Team has officially been verified as a Type I Hazmat Team. Other Type I teams in Ohio include Columbus, Cincinnati, Cleveland, and Akron.

Under Committee Reports, Tom Mazur discussed upcoming transportation issues involving ODOT and major construction on I-75 over the next 30+ months. Tom will see if ODOT representatives would be available to brief the LEPC at their October meeting.

Rick Skilliter requested funds to send some Citizen Corps volunteers to training for advanced CISM. Doug Litsey offered a motion to approve funding such training for an amount not to exceed \$780.00, seconded by Tom Mazur. Motion passed.

Being no further business to come before the Committee, Tim Haniford moved to adjourn, seconded by Joe Kitchen. Meeting stood adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ted Brookman Secretary